Life Update

Hey everyone,

I’ve been quiet on here recently as I’ve had a lot of other things on my mind that have kind of taken over but I’m going to update you all on what’s been happening. I feel like this might be a long one so grab a cup of tea and let’s have a chat.

This month marks 2 years since I left school (crazy!!). When I left I was one of the few people who didn’t go to University, I knew it wasn’t for me. There was two things that I wanted to do. The first thing I wanted was to become a Make Up Artist. I’d had a passion for make up for years and loved how there really were no limits, you could be as creative as you like. The other thing I wanted to do was leave Ireland, desperately!! I really wanted to move to London but as a 17 year old girl with little money I wasn’t exactly able to pick up and move to London and start paying rent etc so instead I stayed.

Throughout the few months after school I was beginning my Make Up Journey, I did a course with Urban Decay and planned to head to make up college in the January to become fully qualified. This is when an opportunity came up to leave Ireland behind and move to London to work as an au pair so I had a big decision to make, my career in makeup or my mental health and happiness? I was miserable in Ireland and suffering a lot with my mental health so instead of staying in Ireland and pursuing make up I chose London.

I’ve been living in London for over a year and a half now and I think it’s one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. I’ve gained so much life experiences that I just wouldn’t have gotten staying in Ireland. I’ve absolutely loved living here but I think it’s time to put my career first. After lots of thinking I’ve made the massive decision to leave my job as an Au Pair and finally achieve my goal of becoming a make up artist. I’ve had this on hold on 2 years but now is my time to go for it so at the end of summer I will be packing up my life here in London into my little car, heading back to Dublin and going to make up college!

This has been a really hard decision to come to and I’ve been going over it again and again in my head. Leaving England means leaving my friends here that I’ve got so used to having close by, leaving a job and family that have been so good to me and accepted me like one of their own and leaving the city that has made me so happy. When I left Dublin I was a shell of the person I am now, this experience has taught me so much about life and myself. I’m heading back to Dublin with a fresh view of it, not the horrible tainted view I left with. I’m a much happier and healthier person mentally and I want to continue that back home in Ireland.

All in all I am feeling super positive about this decision. A lot is going to change and of course I’m nervous but I am excited beyond belief to finally start taking major steps towards what I want to do for my career and study make up. This is the beginning of a whole new chapter of my life and I am so ready for it!!

 

If you would like posts on my experience working as an Au Pair and why I decided not to go to University please let me know in the comments below!

Meg xx

Ps. I’ve made a new Instagram for my make up! Please head over and follow @MegLisa_Makeup 

Follow my other Social Media… 

Twitter

Facebook

Instagram

Bloglovin’

SNAPCHAT: MegHainsworth

25 thoughts on “Life Update

  1. That is amazing that you did a course with Urban Decay! I love their products so so much. I think you should definitely get into a positive space and listen to yourself, if something isn’t working, then don’t do it. It’s great that you did that, you followed your instincts and seem to be doing great! Much love x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think you are making the right decision if you are feeling this optimistic about it! Living in London sounds amazing but it’s a box you have now ticked and you can now pursue exactly what you want! I would love to hear how you came to the conclusion of actually going to university after always thinking it wasn’t for you. I never thought that I would go to uni but here I am, uni picked and ready for Septmember haha! Lovely post x
    Claire | clairesyear.com

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I think it’s amazing that despite your mental worries you are going to follow your dream. Just remember Ireland is only temporary. Once you are a qualified makeup artist, what’s to stop you moving to London or even another city that’s cheaper to live in like Manchester, Leeds or Birmingham? Save save save now & then follow your dream back to England to continue makeup 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is the plan!! I’m excited to go home for a while and qualify but I’m heading with the mindset of being back in the UK in a couple of years! Time to get saving!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

